Update

First of all, I apologise for not posting the first part In Chapter I of the WHQ: Cursed City Campaign. Due to coming down with a bug, I had to put that aside until I got better. Fortunately, I’m a lot better now, so working on that series will resume.

Second, and one you may or may not have known about, is that I’ve decided after many weeks of thought on what I wanted to do with Instagram going forwards; I’ve decided that it was best to leave, permanently.

If you’ve read both parts of my farewell posts, then you’ll know why I’ve felt such way with leaving. I wish I could’ve added more context and thought into writing those posts, but Instagram limits word count. It was difficult enough having to carefully choose my words when expressing myself on the matter.

But none of it mattered in the end, only two people liked the post (no comments, but one of them knew I was leaving by dm, way before I announced it in my posts) , the rest were either aware of it and didn’t care, or in truth they only saw me as an accessory to their following numbers. For about a day or so I left those posts to see what would happen, and it was clear that I made the right choice and saw the reality of a very soulless community.

This doesn’t apply to those who weren’t active on the site, so a small few will have missed it. But I couldn’t stay around forever when I felt the need to leave. To those who were active and ignored it, were those who I even referenced in my Fallour Friday shout out posts, to even making @ for those I respected and praised; well, they hardly said a word of concern or gratitude. The so called “The hobby comnunity” or “Warhammer community” for everyone now looks more like an elitist club. Your not worthy unless you have 500+ followers, your a tool for the hype, your collection of painstakingly painted miniatures is a 1 second swipe experience, your words on thought and inspiration are meaingless, your opinions are only meant to support the product, your photos of product boxes that are sealed are more liked than a finished miniature, your addiction to spend your savings on piles of shame are encouraged. This is what being in the Instagram community felt like for me, a slow decent into misery as all I see around me is a mocking imitation of what should have been a community for all.

I’m more convinced now that places like WordPress, niche hobby communities and small clubs on discussion sites are the closest thing to a real community. Instagram and other bigger social media sites only attract a horde mentality for carbon copying, soulless follower farming, shilling, influncer culture and other nonsense. They don’t care about you, your just a number for their egotistical rise to fame.

On WordPress, or so a Black Library author said was a “dying” format, is actually a genuine community. Nobody can replace the likes of IRO, Azazel, Pete, Ignitedmoth and many more. It would be sad time if anyone notable from this small community left. Eventually however, I’ve come to terms with the fact that the time will come as, slowly, each one of us leaves here for good. So enjoy, discuss and share whats here, today, now while your still here.

If the day came when the 20 or so bloggers I follow here leave, I’d see it as the end of a great haven of hobbyists.

I should probably end this post here before I make more lectures on my growing distaste for the modern hobby landscape, and the ruination by influencer culture.

Until next time,

34th Tribe

4 thoughts on “Update

  1. First off, I hope you feel better soon! I didn’t see your posts about leaving Instagram and I’m sorry that I missed them. Unfortunately, I think this is the fault of Meta. I’ve noticed more and more that Instagram and FB likes to show certain kinds of content to people, especially anything that is popular or gets a lot of likes. Truthfully, I have five hundred followers on Instagram but I bet less than half of those are active accounts and whenever I do post things, I seem to be getting less and less likes myself. It can be frustrating, puzzling, and even feel a bit demeaning.

    I’m glad you’re going to keep blogging and while I don’t know some of the stuff you’re working on now very well (never played AoS), I’m still a fan of your content and I think you should do whatever makes you happy. That’s always the most important thing.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve not considered the whole meta thing, which could explain why things have changed for the past year or so. I’d imagine it’s the same for places like Twitter/X and Twitch.

      Thank you for the support! I’m much better now, and getting back into getting stuff ready for the blog.

      I’ve got some Fallout: Wasteland Warfare content coming soon, I’ve got a backlog of finished models done. Then there’s the FNV homebrew rules to publish on the Modiphius Forum. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In my opinion, Meta has made Facebook and Instagram worse in the last couple of years overall. Its harder and harder for an individual to be noticed sadly.

        You’re very welcome and I’m looking forward to the Fallout content. I’m trying to wrap up some terrain so I can get a game in soon. I’m not sure I’ve actually played this year which is a shame and something I want to rectify!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Instagram is too saturated to be any kind of decent community. Our little space here on WP is the best but yep people may come and go on here too. Actually they already have. Just keep doing what you do mate and enjoy it for what it is. It’s about painting little people, playing games, admiring others work and all good vibes.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started