AoS 2.0 preparation work reaches milestone progress

A few weeks back I did a post on what’s been going on with my AoS 2.0 prep work, going over how I was going to build up towards some goals I had in mind to achive. Since then, much has happened that I can share some updates on what’s been going on.

Faction cards for AoS 2.0

First of all, I’ve been building up my deck of cards for every faction and their respective units I own miniatures of in all four Grand Alliance’s. This may sound like a lot of work (editing wise it was quite a daunting task), but I think it was worth doing for the sake of easily accessible unit cards, magic cards and other information concerning the factions abilities.

I’ve also got a few more spell cards made, as well as faction allegiance abilities for reference. Though, I will mention that the magic cards, Realm of Battles, Special Rules and AI cards will be in a seperate deck. My faction card deck was already full!

Since I’ve mostly got all of my warscroll cards done, as well as magic and abilities, I can focus on playing some games when I have time to do so.

There’s just the natter of getting the following done:

  • Getting the Lore of Fire and Lore of Light Spell cards edited and printed, which will include the spells in AoS 2.0 Core Book and Spell Lore from WHFB converted to AoS.
  • Making refrence cards for Allegiance Abilities for Maggotkin of Nurgle, Fyreslayer Lodge, the rest of the Skaven Clans I’ve yet to include (Masterclan and Moulder are done) and the rest of the Stormcast Eternals gear.

Civil War in Anvilgard/Har Kuron

One of my upcoming goal to achive in my grand and never ending task for the ultimate AoS project, the Civil War in Anvilgard/Har Kuron, is almost halfway done. Well, for the Aelven lot at least. For some weeks now I’ve been working on converting my WHFB Dark Elves into re-purpused units for AoS. Since there’s no chance I’ll ever be able to play WHFB in my local area, I’ve decided that the best choice would be to convert the over to AoS with a much better paint job. As sad as it I’d to do this, at least they’ll be used much more regularly with my AI homebrew system.

This involved much time invested into paint stripping old miniatures, and the tedious work of getting all the paint off was too much for me. But I carried on regardless of my sanity draining from the monotonous reputation and time it took to get all the old paint off.

Despite how I felt during that stage, I didn’t regret my decision since I now had a load of bare metal and plastic miniatures (some of which needing some improvements). What made it all the more worth it was that I managed to salvage a back log unit that never really materialised into a playable unit of Black Ark Corsairs. So I a way I’ve managed to save some very poorly done miniatures and some money!

My current focus is to get the Har Kuron faction built and ready to be fielded onto the battlefield. Right now from what I have to work on, there are about four units in WIP, and at least two more units to be paint stripped. However, that latter lot will be difficult to work on as they are Cold One Knights without lances…

As for the other half, that will be something I’ll be working on when I can afford to build the loyalists of Anvilgard. I’ve already got some units painted for that faction, but it’s hardly ready as a playable force yet. However, I’m currently getting some Legacy Wood Elf archer units paint stripped and painted as Anvilgard Loyalist scouts.

This Civil War of Anvilgard/Har Kuron project will be used for AoS 2.0 and Warcry, meaning I have some variation of gameplay.

I will be posting a full review of my Har Kuron faction in the not too distant future, once I’ve got my last few units painted.

There may be a few surprised in that post too. 😉

Warcry

Recently I’ve looked into Warcry as a viable Skirmish game for my collection. I had originally considered using the AoS 2.0 Skirmish ruleset from the exsclusive White Dawrf articles, however, upon looking into Warcry and its rulesey and free profiles to print and play, I was won over by its simplicity in a straight forward ruleset that had the depth and complexity in the way factions and the battlefield are played.

Currently, I’ve got most of my Cities of Sigmar cards done and all of Clan Moulder done too. I would like to print everything I have in my collectionto be used in Warcry, but for now, my Civil War for Anvilgard/Har Kuron is my priority. The Skaven are the exception as I can do a ton of list combinations for some classic sewer Skirmish.

Hallost Campaign

Last but not least (……….but there’s always something else though) is my ongoing big project to produce a fully realised landmass of Hallost as part of an ongoing years long campaign for my AoS games. Using every scrap of lore I can find, source and implement into my map campaign. I’ve only just outlined one section with tidbits of lore and geography. I plan to at least cover all the major places for the four Grand Alliances as a starting point for establishing the motives and starting points for the factions in Hallost.

Yes, each one of those numbered lands are battlefields, Cities, ruined cities, outpost lands, territories and such. The origin map in AoS 2.0 was but a plain map with only a few marked locations.

I wouldn’t expect anything major from this project for quite some time, until I’ve refined the established setting and narrative from rewrites. Once I’ve done my FWW BoS Squad Labradorite story (Part 2 still in the drafting phase of finishing Operation 2 story), I’ll be focusing for a time on getting the Hallost campaign established.

That’s all for today. After weeks of hobby posts and hardly any miniatures to show on the blog, I think I’ll dedicate my next post on my Gamma Wolves project (and at this rate, my 100th project of many simultaneously).

Until next time,

34th Tribe

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started